Taitung Excellent Rice

Royal Quality Rice, All in Taitung

Rice from Taitung is well known nationwide. Its appearance is crystal clear and full. The texture is sticky and chewy.

Rice from Taitung is well known nationwide. Its appearance is crystal clear and full. The texture is sticky and chewy. Whenever the lid is lifted up from a pot of rice, the pleasant rich aroma of rice will stimulate people’s appetite to want to eat more. What is the secret of this chewy and sweet rice from Taitung?


From a historical perspective, East Rift Valley is the earliest area to cultivate rice in the eastern region of Taiwan. It also has a reputation for being the "home of quality rice." Chishang Township, Guanshan Township, Luye Township are all located in the southern part of the valley. This area is richly endowed by nature where it has fresh air, pure water and clean soil. It is not surprising that the area can produce healthy and high quality rice which is rich in aroma and taste.


Chishang Township is located at the highest point, 300 meters above sea level, of the East Rift Valley. It is considered low altitude and suitable for cultivating rice. Due to the following conditions: the large temperature difference between day and night, sufficient sunshine, coupled with irrigation water source from Sinwulyu Creek of the Central Mountain Range, which is rich in organic minerals, as well as having Taiwan's only inland freshwater swamp, "Dapo Lake" to adjust the water levels, the rice is more chewy than rice found in other counties. Chishang rice has won the rice championship for several consecutive years. However, it is also because of its prestige that there are many unauthorized manufacturers trying to reproduce the product. As a result, the farmers in Chishang have to put in extra effort to maintain the title of "Chishang Rice" to ensure the good image of the brand.


Guanshan Township is located east of the Coastal Mountains Range and west of the Central Mountain Range. It has sandy loam and pure water from Sinwulyu Creek, coupled with the excellent design of Guanshan Canal, providing a good irrigation system. Because of its unique aroma, color and taste, the rice produced here was called the "Royal Rice." Since it was used as the tribute to the Japanese emperor during the time of Japanese colonization, people at that time called it "Emperor's Rice," demonstrating the popularity of the rice.


The average altitude of Luye Township is about 200 meters above sea level. The water used to irrigate the rice fields is from unpolluted areas of the middle and upper reaches of Beinan Creek. The organic and quality rice produced here was named "Fulu Rice" by a former member of the Committee of Agriculture, Mr. Shi-Huang Chen. Fulu Rice was in many exhibitions in Japan and has gained a good reputation in Japan. Therefore, the Japanese business, "Mos Burger", a merchandized fast food chain, chooses organic rice from Luye as one of its ingredients in Taiwan. Being able to be selected as the raw material supplier shows that Luye Rice can withstand all aspects of high standard tests from production to sales.


Taitung County has a privileged natural environment. The farmers' association from each township regularly holds an annual competition to promote quality rice. Not only does this provide consumers a way to buy quality rice, but also encourage farmers to cultivate rice with more effort and even create new breeds. What are you waiting for? Come and buy a pack of rice home!

Selecting Tips

The appearance of the rice appears full

The appearance of the rice appears full, crystal clear and with little whiteness in the middle. The quality is considered better if the size is very much the same.

After being cooked, the rice is still intact

After being cooked, the rice is still intact, shiny, a bit sticky and chewy, with aroma. Under the normal preservation process, it will not turn yellow in the next meal. (This can be used as a reference for future purchase.)

Note the label of origin and production dates on the package.

Note the label of origin and production dates on the package.

CAS

Choose a reputable brand, and the one with CAS logo for quality rice to ensure the quality.

Cooking Tips

Rinsing the rice

Rinsing the rice:
The process needs to be gentle and quick. Do not scrub too hard, just enough to remove the impurities. Rinse three times, and each time should not be over 15 seconds. Finally, drain the rice well.

Adding water

Adding water:
The ratio of rice and water should be 1:1. (Make adjustments to suit personal preference for the softness of rice.)

Soaking

Soaking:
Before cooking, soak the rice in water for 30 minutes to let each grain of rice fully absorb the water, which can ensure even heat distribution while cooking.

Simmering the rice

Simmering the rice:
After cooking is done, let the rice sit and simmer for another 15-20 minutes. The main purpose is to let the rice at the bottom to absorb the moisture in the pot so it will not be too dry.

Loosing up

Loosing up
After simmering, the rice will need to loosen up to release any extra moisture, which makes the rice more fluffy and rich in aroma.

image

Preservation Tips

Taiwan's climate is hot and humid. It is easy to attract insects if the rice is kept at room temperature. How does one prevent this then?

Preservation Tips
  • After opening, store the rice in the refrigerator.
  • Place a pack of deoxidizer in the package.
  • Put the rice in the freezer for three days right after purchasing to kill all the eggs of any insects. There will be no bugs even after taking the rice out of the freezer and storing it at room temperature.
Top

台东好米

御用好米,尽在台东

台东县生产的米驰名全国,外观晶莹剔透,粒粒饱满,吃起来香Q又具有黏性

台东县生产的米驰名全国,外观晶莹剔透,粒粒饱满,吃起来香Q又具有黏性,每当饭熟掀起锅盖时,浓郁的米饭香气顺着袅袅白烟扑鼻而来,令人食指大动,忍不住吃上好几碗。越嚼越有甜味的台东米,究竟好吃的秘诀在哪里呢?


花东纵谷是东部地区历史最早的稻作栽培区,有「良质米故乡」的美称。台东池上乡、关山镇、鹿野乡位于纵谷南段地区,自然环境得天独厚,空气新鲜,水质纯净,土壤零污染,孕育出健康高质量的优良稻米,自然生产出来的米又香、又Q、又好吃!


池上乡位于花东纵谷的最高处,海拔300公尺,属于低海拔,非常适合稻作。由于日夜温差大、日照充足,加上灌溉水源来自中央山脉的新武吕溪,水质含有丰富的有机矿物质,又有全台唯一的内陆淡水沼泽「大坡池」来调节水位,所生产的稻米,比起其他县市更Q弹有嚼劲。池上米已经连续好几年在比赛中夺得冠军米的宝座,不过也因为如此,仿冒池上米的不肖厂商如雨后春笋冒出,让池上的农民得更费心力,想尽办法来维护「池上米」的招牌,确保品牌优良的形象。


关山镇东临海岸山脉,西临中央山脉,为溪谷之砂质壤土,取新武吕溪来自中央山脉纯净的水源,加上设计优良的关山大圳,提供良好灌溉系统,所生产的稻米独具色、香、味,在日据时代为台湾进贡日本天皇的「御用米」,当时被称为「皇帝米」,可见其受欢迎的程度。


鹿野乡平均海拔高度约200公尺,稻田引进卑南溪中上游无污染的溪水灌溉,其生产的有机米及良质米,经农委会陈前主任委员希煌先生于民国90年命名为「福鹿米」,并多次应邀至日本参展,深获日本各界喜好。日商在台经营的「摩斯汉堡」连锁快餐店,米汉堡原料就是来自鹿野有机米产销班,能获选为原料供应者,显示鹿野米在产、制、销各方面均经得起高标准检验。


台东县拥有优渥的自然环境,各乡镇的农会积极推广稻米,每年定期举办比赛,除了提供消费者一个方便的途径选购良质米,也无形中激励农民更用心栽培稻米,培育更多新的品种。优质好米,吃出健康,你还在等什么?赶快带一包米回家吧!

挑选小教室

米粒外观饱满

米粒外观饱满、晶莹剔透具光泽、心腹白少,粒型均一品质较好。

白米煮熟后,饭粒完整

白米煮熟后,饭粒完整、光泽、黏弹性佳、具有香气、且正常保温状态下隔餐不泛黄 (作为再次购买之参考)。

标示的产地、生产期别

注意包装袋上标示的产地、生产期别。

CAS

选择信誉良好的品牌,且具有CAS良质米标志者,较能确保优良质量。

烹煮秘诀

洗 米

洗 米:
动作要轻且快,搓洗力气不要太大,只要将附着于米中的杂质去除就可以了。每次洗不超过15秒,洗约3次,最后确实将洗米水沥干。

加 水

加 水:
一杯米加一杯水,依此比类推即可 (口感软硬可自行调整加水比例)。

浸 泡

浸 泡:
白米在煮前,先用水浸泡30分钟,让米粒充分吸收水分,可达到均匀受热的效果。

闷 饭

闷 饭:
煮好饭后利用余温闷15~20分钟才能掀锅盖,主要是让锅底的米饭可以吸收锅里面的水气,不会盛起来干巴巴的不好吃。

打 松

打 松
闷饭后需打松饭粒,帮助米饭将多余的水气排出,吃起来就会比较 松、香、Q。

电饭锅

保存妙招

台湾气候湿热,白米储藏在室温下容易滋生虫蚁,那要怎么防止他们侵害呢?

品牌的建立
  • 开封后放入冰箱冷藏。
  • 在包装中置入一包脱氧剂。
  • 刚买回家的白米迅速放入冰箱冷冻库冰3天,把虫卵全部杀死,之后即使拿出来放在室温下也不会有虫害。
Top